Deeper Imaginings – CD

by Paul Adams and Elizabeth Geyer A follow up to the “Imaginings” album. New age / World contemplative instrumental music poetically presented with an influence of world music in the vein of Peter Gabriel, Paul Winter, Ravi Shankar and Brian Eno.        

Continue Reading →

They Played Football In Peoria – Book

by John McKenzie A History of the Mid State Football Conference (1958-1962) After a long run of over a half a century, the Mid State conference has gone the way of the Edsel car. This book is written to remember and keep alive some of the legends, rivalries and stories from years gone by. Once there…

Continue Reading →

Tiny Americans – A Novel – Book

by Devin Murphy Devin Murphy is an Assistant Professor of Creative Writing at Bradley University. From the National Bestselling author of The Boat Runner comes a poignant, luminous novel that follows one family over decades and across the world perfect for fans of the film Boyhood. Composed of a series of touchstone moments, Tiny Americans is a thrilling and…

Continue Reading →

Haunted Bloomington-Normal Illinois – Book

by Deborah Carr Senger From the clamor of bygone parades to the phantom scent of burned rubber on Route 66, ghoulish and supernatural visions flourish in Bloomington-Normal.        

Continue Reading →

R.F.D. 3 Pocket Book Collection

by Bill Knight COLLETOR’S ITEM FROM THE 1990s Stories for newspapers and magazine, plus scripts for radio and pilot manuscripts for local television, Bill Knight takes readers into the past and past familiar routes to the less-traveled countryside and to forgotten neighborhoods.        

Continue Reading →

Rick Johnson Reader – Book

edited by Bill Knight TIN CANS, SQUEEMS AND THUDPIES In the first collection of rock critic Rick Johnson’s writing, the late writer is gadfly, smart-aleck and court jester, praising or blasting subjects from the Rolling Stones to the Raspberries, from Heavy Metal to Punk Rock, from Pac-Man to Chicago baseball.      

Continue Reading →

Fractured Souls – Book

by Sylvia Shults More Hauntings At The Peoria State Hospital Sylvia Shults returns to the hilltop, weaving history and paranormal investigation together to continue the story of the institution.    

Continue Reading →

Ghosts of the Prairie – Book

by Troy Taylor History & Hauntings of Central Illinois There are secrets that hide among the fields, forests, and farms that are found on the windswept prairie of Central Illinois. The history of the region is filled with stories of strange deaths, haunted houses, spirit-infested schools, abandoned hospitals, eerie railroad stations, and more, and there…

Continue Reading →

Can’t we talk about something more PLEASANT? – Book

by Roz Chast Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant is the 2019 Peoria Reads selection. Peoria Reads! is a project instituted and led by Common Place and the Peoria Public Library. You can find more information at http://www.peoriareads.com. #1 New York Times Bestseller NATIONAL BOOK AWARD FINALIST In her first memoir, New Yorker cartoonist Roz Chast brings…

Continue Reading →

The Kings of the Rings – Book

by Scott Rice McBride The Kings of the Rings: Stories from the VFW National Marble Tournaments 1947-1962 In the United States, marbles were impacted by the Industrial Revolution. As families moved from farms to cities, the children took their marbles with them. Children of factory workers and factory owners could be found in the same…

Continue Reading →

Page 1 of 7